Archdiocese at a Glance

The Archdiocese of Guwahati was created on 1st August, 1995, from the diocese of Guwahati which was established on 16th August,1992 with Bishop Thomas Menamparampil as its first Bishop by St Popo John Paul II.

The Patron of the Archdiocese Christ the Bearer of Good news.  The Archdiocese consists of nine districts of Assam: Kamrup Metro, Kamrup Rural, East Kamrup, South Kamrup, Goalpara, Nagaon, Morigaon, Hojai NS Tamalpur Sub-division of Baksa District.

On 9th April 2011, Bishop John Moolachira, the then Bishop of Diphu was transferred to Guwahati as Coadjutor Archbishop of Guwahati and took charge as second Archbishop of Guwahati on 18th January,2012.

God never tires of forgiving us; we are the ones who tire of seeking his mercy.

Pope Francis

pope francis
Pope Francis

Pope Francis has released an Apostolic Letter on December 8, 2020, on the Feast of the Immaculate Conception on St. Joseph with the title Patris Corde which means, ‘with a Father’s Heart’. The Apostolic letter comes on the 150th anniversary of the declaration of St. Joseph as the patron of the universal Church by Pope Pius IX.

John Moolachria

Archbishop of Guwahati

Proverbs 3:3-6

Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.